Log in


  • September 28, 2016 12:03 PM | Anonymous

    ICTM sponsored The Active 8: Indiana Standards for Mathematical Processes workshop this summer. Ninety-two educators representing several schools across the state attended 5 hours of professional development with an emphasis on engaging students in the mathematical process standards as they ae also learning the content standards.

    ICTM partnered with the Southern and West Central Indiana Educational Service Centers to make this possible. Many thanks to Carla Westphal & Associates, Inc. for providing a conference discount on selected resource materials to support transforming our classrooms into rich and engaging learning environments and McGraw-Hill for providing lunch.

    The presenters, Nick Flowers, Allana Hodge, Sara Hunter, Kim Johnson, Jane Mahan, Dr. Doris Mohr, Angela Moreman and Melissa Pickens, helped participants dig deep into the language of the standards and provided suggestions and activities for making them relevant and alive in classrooms. A few comments from participant feedback follow:

    I valued…

    “the resources shared and collaboration with other schools.”

    “strategies to help teach the process standards.”

    I gained…

    “insight into what the process standards entail along with many helpful strategies and activities for putting them into use.”

    “quick tips to use with students.”

    Thanks to all that participated this summer!

  • September 22, 2016 10:13 PM | Anonymous

    The 2016 fall conference is fast approaching. We are excited to have Zalman Usiskin keynote this year's conference! Jennifer Bay-Williams will be our featured presenter. Check out their bios in the flyer below.

    2016 Conference Flyer

  • September 22, 2016 9:51 PM | Anonymous
    The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy recently announced the recipients of the 2014 & 2015 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST). We are proud to announce that four of those teachers are from Indiana. The awardees of math are:
    • Martin Briggs, Crichfield Elementary School
    • Michael Spock, Columbus North High School
    The awardees for science are:
    • Kristen Poindexter, Spring Mill Elementary School
    • Hugh Ross, Guerin Catholic High School
    Our state winners will join other awardees in Washington, D.D. for a series of events in their honor, including professional development opportunities, discussion with policy-makers on how to improve mathematics and science education, and an awards ceremony. In addition, awardees will receive a certificate signed by the President of the United States and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation (NSF).

    This year's finalists are:
    • Lisa Leliaert, Maxwell Intermediate School, Greenfield-Central Schools - Lisa is transitioning to a Math Coaching position this year.
    • Kim Matsuoka, John Strange Elementary School, MSD Washington Township - Kim is transitioning to a middle school math position.
    • Holly Miller, Sand Creek Elementary, Fishers, Indiana - Holly teaches high ability fifth graders and is active in STEM education.
    Learn more about Indiana's awardees and their commendable work by reviewing their bios here http://recognition.paemst.org/. The PAEMST program is proud of the impact these teachers are making for both our students and the future of science and mathematics education nationwide. To learn more about the PAEMST program or to nominate a 7-12 Science or Math teacher this fall, please visit http://www.paemst.org.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software